Ministers Honour Local Woman

Wednesday, 08 March 2017

Member for Davidson, Jonathan O’Dea has congratulated Willoughby Councillor, Judith Rutherford on receiving a prestigious Ministerial Award in honour of her outstanding service to the community.

Councillor Rutherford received the Special Achievement Award during the presentation of the 2017 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government after being nominated for a Ministers’ award by Mr O’Dea.

The Davidson MP said, “Judith provides an ongoing positive role model for women aspiring leadership roles, especially in Local Government as well as in the arts and music sectors.

“Her dedication to community service is inspirational and her award is well deserved,” Mr O’Dea said.

Councillor Rutherford has served on Willoughby Council for more than 20 years, including as Deputy Mayor, and is currently the Chair of Willoughby City Council’s Cultural Events Committee and Co-Chair of the Council’s Multi-cultural Committee.

She is Deputy Chair of the Australian Institute of Asian Culture & Visual Arts; was National President of the Asian Arts Society of Australia (2001-10); founded one of the earliest Neighbourhood Watch Groups in Castle Cove; reactivated the Castle Cove Progress Association; was a founding member of the Federation of Willoughby Progress Associations and a founding director of Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy Australia.

Judith was awarded a Community Service Award by the NSW Premier in 2000 and is a Member of the Order of Australia. In 2007 she also received a Distinguished Service Award from the Powerhouse Museum.

“I congratulate Judith Rutherford on her inspirational community service, particularly to women. The Ministers’ Special Achievement Award is well deserved,” Mr O’Dea said.

“I also congratulate Ku-ring-gai Mayor, Jennifer Anderson, a former Davidson Local Woman of the Year, on taking out the elected Representative – Metropolitan Council Award. Her many achievements, include the establishment of the Hornsby-Ku-ring-gai Women’s Shelter and her involvement in developing the annual St Ives Medieval Faire.”

The awards presentation was held at NSW Parliament House and attended by the Minister for Local Government, Gabrielle Upton and the Minister for Women, Tanya Davies.